Club news will appear here
Membership available, for information please contact

Jack Hughes Trophy 2016

The Newbury & Crookham Club Championship took place this weekend for the Ladies and the Men.

The Jack Hughes Trophy was won for the 13th time by David Niven with scores of 72 and 74 for a total of 146, the first of his titles was won in 1974. Nick Newman, Ross Snape and Uzair Noor were joint runners up with combined scores of 150

David’s two scores of 74 and 72 were also good enough to win him the Jack Hughes Memorial Trophy that is played for by anybody over the age of 55. Paul Lamb was the runner up in this category.

The 4-9 Salver was won by Ross Snape with scores of 74 and 76 for a total of 150 and the 10-18 salver was won by Dan Bayly with a total of 158 made up of two 79’s.

To view the results please click this link

Club Captain Steve Myers with Ross Snape, Dan Bayly and David Niven

The CSS score for both rounds was 70.

The Ladies’ Championships took place on Saturday, 30th July with the Scratch Cup and Silver Salver for the Silver Division and Bronze Salver for the Bronze Division.

 The 36 hole Scratch Cup was won by Life Member Airlie Dyson with gross 76 for the morning round and 87 for the afternoon round making a total of 163 for the day.  Linda Hunt and Jo Russ followed closely behind, each scoring 165 for the day.

 Two competitors tied for the Silver Handicap Salver after 36 holes with exceptional scores; Jo Grieve with nett 71 and 68 totalling 139 for the day and Norma Kirby with nett 68 and 71.  A play off ensued over the 1st, 11th, 12th and 13th holes.  Norma played steady golf and was the eventual winner of the Salver.

 The winner of the Bronze Salver, played over 27 holes, was Jenny Bell who achieved a nett 74 for the morning round and nett 36 for the 9 holes in the afternoon, totalling 110.  Mary Wyatt was second with a total of 113.5.


Lady Captain Sheila Hayes with Norma Kirby, Jenny Bell and Airlie Dyson

 Norma Kirby (Silver Handicap Salver winner), Jenny Bell (Bronze Salver), Sheila Hayes (Lady Captain) and Airlie Dyson (Scratch Cup)


More “Club News